It is currently Tue Oct 22, 2019 9:08 am

PostPosted: Tue Jan 18, 2011 9:43 am 

One of the physicists in the programme held the position that, because a particle can be in two places at the same time, this means that there are many replicates of himself in parallel universes.
I'm no expert, but I detect a flaw in this way of thinking. The physicist assumed that, because particles can be in one place and another simultaneously, as demonstrated in the celebrated slit experiment and in particle acccelerators, this must always be the case.
It overlooks the fact that when we change the conditions we get different results. There's no reason to think that because a particle acts in a certain way in certain conditions, that it will act the same way in all conditions, including when it is part of the human body. In this instance, the particle is neither being shot from a laser, nor being accelerated.
Has anyone else any thoughts on this?

Profile Send private message  

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 18, 2011 1:21 pm 

Hi Brian,
I can't really comment as a lot of it was beyond me. that's why I don't post much on this section very often ).
I found it interesting though but I did switch it off after twenty minutes or so and recorded the rest for later viewing. Anyone who missed it can view it on BBCiplayer. To save the trouble of searching for it here it is...

http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/b0 ... s_Reality/

All the best
Dave

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 18, 2011 4:20 pm 

There are other criticisms to make about the programme. If the physicist mentioned thinks that he's been replicated many times in other dimensions, and assuming that he thinks everything is made of elementary particles, how could his replicates have consciousness?
There's no data to show that consciousness - thoughts, concepts, feelings - consist of particles, so his replicates must be mindless.