Maksutov cassegrain help

The place to discuss telescopes, binoculars, CCDs and other equipment

Moderators: Guy Fennimore, joe, Brian

gooseholla

Maksutov cassegrain help

Post by gooseholla »

Hello.

I have been using an 8 inch Celestron Newtonian for 4 years now. However, I'm looking to get out and about so want a smaller telescope to go in my small car - and one that is lighter to carry, setup etc... Therefore, I am looking at a Maksutov Cassegrain. However, I know nothing of what to look for, or what is any good.

Not looking to spend huge amount on one, say c.£300. So what size should one look for? What are the benefits over a newt. etc?

Any help appreciated.
Last edited by gooseholla on Wed Oct 26, 2011 7:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.
David Frydman

Post by David Frydman »

Welcome,
They are actually called Maksutov after the Russian designer Maksutov who invented them in 1940, although a Finnish designer Vaisalla, spelling ? may have thought of the idea earlier.
They are normally of longer focal ratios f//13 to f/15 to f/20 than Schmidt Cassegrain telescopes at f/10 commonly.
Ordinary Cassegrains are not common nowadays, although similar Dall Kirkhams are.

I would suggest a Skywatcher 127mm Maksutov which is around £300.
Look on OVL website. They only sell through dealers and the price varies.
I have one and Smerral, BRIAN who posts in gallery uses one with a webcam.

I am not computer literate so cannot advise on mounts or digital imaging, but hopefully someone else here can.

The 127mm tube and optics is light but on the OVL website you can see the total weight with mount.

I use mine visually on a heavy good photo tripod.
OVL also do a Horizon tripod at about £80 if you just want to use it visually and carry it easily in a car.

Regards, David
David Frydman

Post by David Frydman »

There are no real benefits over a Newtonian although they are good on planets with the higher magnifications from the same eyepieces.
They are compact.