Just beginning

Don't be shy! If you're just starting out, here's the place to ask that first question

Moderators: joe, Guy Fennimore, Brian

Tony Jones

Just beginning

Post by Tony Jones »

Hi everyone

Because my wife and I have long been interested in the night sky, we encouraged family members to buy us a "proper" telescope as a Ruby Wedding present, even though we've never used one before!
So we're now the proud owners of a Celestron 114 LCM, and we're working out how to use it, with only the instruction book to go on. Since we're also motorhomers, we've booked in to a "Spring Star Party" on a campsite in Norfolk in March, but we'd like to be a BIT more than absolute beginners by then.
Any advice is welcome, and especially if there's anyone in Essex (we're in Burnham-on-Crouch) who can help us make sense of the instructions for our telescope!
The sky is for looking at, the land is for travelling on.
If God had meant us to fly, He wouldn't have given us campervans!
brian livesey

Re: Just beginning

Post by brian livesey »

Hi Tony, Utilise your 'scope to its full capabilities, then you'll appreciate better what a bigger aperture can show :wink: .
brian
meteorB

Post by meteorB »

Hi Tony,

It's difficult to offer any real advice online without being able to get "hands on".
However what I do recommend is to set up and experiment. Outside with plenty of space during the day might be better but put it together and see how it goes. Experimenting during daylight will give you a feel for what cotrols give what movement. Even if you can't actually see the stars just knowing what the scope does with the particular controls is re-assuring. Once you have this basic experience setting it up at night won't be so daunting.

Enjoy your scope.
Cheers,
Bill.
David1952

Post by David1952 »

Hi,