Hello from Portsmouth

Don't be shy! If you're just starting out, here's the place to ask that first question

Moderators: joe, Brian, Guy Fennimore

Muzzy59

Hello from Portsmouth

Post by Muzzy59 »

I am new to astronomy and have just purchased my first telescope Nexstar 4 SE. I have already had some excellent views of the moon, but I am having some problems use the tracking system. I guess that this is down to experience or lack of it in my case. Any handy tips and advice would be most welcome.
David Frydman

Re: Hello from Portsmouth

Post by David Frydman »

Hi and welcome.
I think your telescope is a long focal length Maksutov type telescope.
The problem may be the small field of view with such scopes.
The tracking system may not be accurate enough unless you set it up very accurately.
Whatever is the case you should use the lowest magnification eyepiece you have to locate things, then switch to a higher power.

I am not used to computerised scopes but many here are and hopefully will give advice soon.

This question has come up many times in the past.

At the moment enjoy the Moon and easily located objects.
At the moment the planets are not on view but will soon return.

I used to travel a lot to Portsmouth for work and enjoyed my time there.

Regards, David
Brian

Post by Brian »

Hi Muzzy and Welcome :)

That is a high-quality optical system you have there, excellent for high-magnification Lunar and planetary observation.

Just to be clear, do you have a problem with tracking, which is the way the telescope follows an object in the eyepiece, hopefully keeping it fairly central for a reasonable period of time before you need to apply adjustments via the handset, or do you have problems with the goto which is the way the telescope moves itself to locate an object you've selected using the handset?

Most new users of Goto telescopes find the setup routines a bit baffling at first :shock: :)

ATB,
Brian
52.3N 0.6W
Wellingborough UK.