Intro from a newbie

Don't be shy! If you're just starting out, here's the place to ask that first question

Moderators: joe, Brian, Guy Fennimore

eltanko

Intro from a newbie

Post by eltanko »

Hello all

Brand new to astronomy, though it is something that I have already been interested in.

Have obtained some Skymasters a few days ago, though they were out of collimation and am now awaiting pair number 2!

Live in Long Ashton, just outside of Bristol UK, so if there is anyone who lives nearby, just say hello!!

As I said, am a complete novice, taking the first steps into what I hope will be a really satisfying hobby. Any hints and Tips would be greatly appreciated.
David Frydman

Post by David Frydman »

Welcome.
Sorry the first binocular was out of collimation.
When you get one that is in collimation, I presume 15 x 70??, then put extra bubble wrap around the case or use a more protective case as these binoculars do not like knocks, and the supplied cases are usually flimsy.

Enjoy your observing.

Regards, David
Brian

Post by Brian »

Welcome to the Forum! :)

There's not much that David won't be able to advise on re binoculars :D

Also, get a copy of Stellarium
http://www.stellarium.org/
for your computer and you can explore the sky and learn your way around even when it's cloudy (it usually is )

ATB,
Brian
52.3N 0.6W
Wellingborough UK.

254mm LX90 on Superwedge, WO ZS66SD, Helios 102mm f5 on EQ1, Hunter 11x80, Pentax 10x50
ASI120MC Toucam Pros 740k/840k/900nc mono, Pentax K110D
Ro-Ro roof shed
eltanko

Post by eltanko »

Thanks for the welcome.

I have taken a look at the stellarium, and will Download very soon. I have indeed noticed that its always cloudy, the only day so far it has been clear, was the day I found my bins were faulty! Typical! They are 15x70's. Second pair arrived yesterday, and seem fine!
Davej

Post by Davej »

Hi,

Welcome to the forum :)