taking photos

Don't be shy! If you're just starting out, here's the place to ask that first question

Moderators: Guy Fennimore, joe, Brian

fattcslim

taking photos

Post by fattcslim »

hi , just got a Celestron AstroMaster 130EQ-MD and am now wanting to buy a camera to use with it, i dont have lots of cash and have seen a fuji s3200 at asda for £125. will this be any good to use with the above scope and get good pictures, or if theres another camera around the same price to get pictures of the planets etc. sorry if this is basic but ive no real idea what im doing as of yet and want to be able to learn/show my daughter the wonder and joy of it. shes only 3yrs old so i have a few years to practice and learn lol. many thanks
David Frydman

Post by David Frydman »

Welcome.

I am no expert on modern digital photography with scopes.

For planets people tend to use webcams which are quite cheap. I.e less than £50.

Wait till you get expert advice from knowledgeable people here.

Is the Fuji you mention a bridge camera? I will look it up.
If so you would use it for afocal photography.

Some people use DSLRs particularly Canon. I.e just the bodies for wide field shots.

If you look at the Gallery photos you will see what people are using.

Regards, David
David Frydman

Post by David Frydman »

I had a Fuji bridge camera and I was not happy with it.
Fuji refused to tell me what sort of image stabilisation it had.
I think in effect it just went for high ISO and maybe some kind of electronic image stabilisation.

However, they seem to have improved things with the 3200 in that it is listed as having sensor movement stabilisation.

At the price it seems good although reviews say it is a bit slow in start up and autofocus.

Although I now mainly use Canon Powershot compacts, I was very unhappy with a superzoom Canon bridge camera.

On the old Canon A720IS I am now on 93,00 plus individual photos and it still takes pictures as if it were a new camera.