Intro and help please if you can?

Don't be shy! If you're just starting out, here's the place to ask that first question

Moderators: Guy Fennimore, joe, Brian

dorsetman

Intro and help please if you can?

Post by dorsetman »

Firstly I must say hello and introduce myself, im English after all and therefore a gentleman (according to Sting anyway) so hello, my name is Adam, im 31 from the light polluted South East. I have been into planet gazing with my wife for the past 2 years using a very nice little Skywatcher Skymax 90mm EQ1 which up to now has been plenty good enough for what we want and have been super impressed with what we can see of various planets and of course that lovely bight piece of cheese rotating us. Prior to that it was as a child looking at the moon through my Dads very old Telescope.

I am a very keen photographer and have been for many years and now want to mix the two hobbies together. I resisted up to now as I appreciate I now will need a go to telescope that can track so that I don't get star trails but longer exposure images. My budget is quite limited, maybe £3-400 and having popped into Telescope House in Lingfield (an amazing shop and some of the best and friendliest staff I have ever dealt with) I left with the impression that the Skywatcher Skymax 127 Goto would be the best for me, of course with a T adapter but am I right??? Can you knowledgeable and helpful chaps perhaps help educate me and make sure I follow the correct path.

Thank you kindly in advance!
David Frydman

Post by David Frydman »

Dear Adam.

Welcome.
I am not really an imager, so you will get better advice from the other forum users who are imagers.

Smerral or Brian uses a 127mm Maksutov, possibly a GoTo.
He gets very fine images which you can look at in Gallery.

The only problem with a 127mmm Maksutov is the narrow field of view, so as a GoTo it has to very accurately set up.