Hello everyone

Don't be shy! If you're just starting out, here's the place to ask that first question

Moderators: joe, Brian, Guy Fennimore

rigger01

Hello everyone

Post by rigger01 »

Hello

My name is Steve. I am brand new to astronomy, and for Christmas I received a Celestron Astromaster 76eq. Whilst I realise that the scope itself is low end, I think it will be a good starting block for me.

Since Christmas, I have purchased some Nikon Action 8x40 binoculars, and some books. ie The Practical Astronomer, Philips Stargazing with a Telescope, and Stargazing with Binoculars, along with the Philips Mini Stargazer and of course a star atlas. I have also downloaded Stellarium, which, to my untrained eye, looks pretty good.

I have only managed to go outside a couple of times since Christmas (during brief breaks in the cloud), and am currently familiarizing myself with the major constillations and planets, and using the books as light bed-time reading. I did go outside earlier this evening and got great views of the moon and jupiter just with my binoculars. I think I also saw two of Jupiter's moons, but I may be mistaken.

Anyway, this was just a quick note to say hello, and I loof forward to being in contact with you all in the not too distant future.

A Happy New Year to you all.
David Frydman

Post by David Frydman »

Hello Steve,

Welcome and Happy New Year.

You should be able to see some of Jupiter's moons with the 8x40 binocular as long as you have a fairly dark sky.
Normally that is a good wide angle binocular you have, with I think an aspheric eyepiece to improve the view.

The Moon should be good at this phase.

Here is hoping for some clear skies.

regards, David
David Frydman

Post by David Frydman »

Steve,
You probably saw Ganymede and also Io and Europa combined as one moon.
Both of these star like points would have been on left of Jupiter as seen in normal binocular view.