Hello

Don't be shy! If you're just starting out, here's the place to ask that first question

Moderators: joe, Brian, Guy Fennimore

seachelles

Hello

Post by seachelles »

Hi everyone my name is Michelle and I am a complete novice but eager to learn!

My lovely husband bought me a telescope for christmas a Celestron astromaster 70AZ. I realise this is a low end telescope but as I am just starting out I think it will be perfect for me.
So far I have been able to view the moon very well and Jupiter including a couple of its moons and have been able to make out two of its bands. I have two eyepieces 20mm and 10mm but have just used the 20mm as yet.

As yet I have not bought any books, I just have an old atlas of the universe from when I was at school. Although I have some pretty nifty apps on my iphone which have come in handy.

Im really looking forward to learning so much about our sky at night and talking to you all along the way.

Michelle.
David Frydman

Post by David Frydman »

Dear Michelle,
Welcome and I am glad you had your first view of Jupiter.
Try the Moon also.
Your scope should show quite a lot here, and Jupiter's moons are constantly changing positions.

Regards, David
The Bat

Post by The Bat »

Hello and welcome. Hope you get much enjoyment from your new telescope. 'Turn Left at Orion' is a great book for beginners and will help you get the best from your scope. :D

Rachel
Celestron C8-S XLT
CG5 mount, dual axis motor driven
Imaging Source DFK21AF04.AS camera
North Essex Astronomical Society
dazcaz

Post by dazcaz »

If you have a smartphone download Google Sky Map.
Point your phone at the sky and it will tell you what you are looking at. it will also tell you what else is around. Very useful

Also, on you computer, download Stellarium. This give you a planetarium on you laptop. Tell it where you are and you will have the whole sky before you.