Mars a tiny white dot

Don't be shy! If you're just starting out, here's the place to ask that first question

Moderators: joe, Brian, Guy Fennimore

jimmynitcher

Mars a tiny white dot

Post by jimmynitcher »

Hi

I am new to this but I thought I would be able to see more detail with my 130mm Skywatcher, it didn't appear red at all I could see no detail, it was just like looking at a star without a telecscope, in fact it appeared more orange to the unaided eye.
I must be doing something wrong - I used stellarium to find it and it seemed pretty obviously in the same location so I'm sure I had it in me sights.
Maybe the scope's broken?
thanks for any help
J
khooker

Post by khooker »

Hi

I'm new to this too!

I don't think your scope has broke because Mars looks exactly the same through my scope. :(

I have a skywatcher capricorn 70 EQ1.

KellyH
jimmynitcher

Post by jimmynitcher »

How disappointing, I thought there might be something wrong as the Jodrell Bank Centre for Astrophysics site says
To see significant detail on the surface requires a telescope of 4 inches or more. As the north pole is tilted towards us, we should be able to easily spot the, brilliant white, north polar cap.
... isn't 130mm more than that? Or is it referring to some other measurement?
Brian

Post by Brian »

Hi Jimmy.

Mars disc is small and very bright at present. I think you will need to use as much magnification as is practical to expand the disc and reduce the glare in your eyepiece. In good seeing, your 130mm should be able to stand magnification of x200 or so, and I think for Mars you need to get close to that if you can. I don't know the focal length of your 'scope (is it f6?) but I guess you will need an eyepiece of 5mmFL or less, or a 10mm (or less) plus a x2 barlow lens.

HTH a bit,
Brian
52.3N 0.6W
Wellingborough UK.

254mm LX90 on Superwedge, WO ZS66SD, Helios 102mm f5 on EQ1, Hunter 11x80, Pentax 10x50
ASI120MC Toucam Pros 740k/840k/900nc mono, Pentax K110D
Ro-Ro roof shed