It is currently Sun Jun 16, 2019 7:11 am


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Macam help
PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2012 10:19 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 3:51 pm
Posts: 50
Bit of a problem being computer dyslexic! I have macam as there is so little of it and what there is seems simple. Still cant see planets though just a very overexposed ball of light. Moon ok as I use filters on the telescope this doesnt work on planets. Cant find anything in Macam to adjust to cure this. Any help please. Skywatcher 6 inch and 4 3/4 refractor, newtonian 6 inch. All the same on macam. Thanks.

_________________
120 evostar
150 evostar
150newtonian
eq3
az4
cg5


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Macam help
PostPosted: Sat Sep 22, 2012 9:29 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 9:25 am
Posts: 5265
I know nothing much about computers, but think the small size of the planet occupying a small part of the field causes automatic overexposure.
I think you need to manually adjust the exposure.

Someone who knows will surely reply to you soon.

Regards, David


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Macam help
PostPosted: Sat Sep 22, 2012 11:50 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 3:51 pm
Posts: 50
Thank you David. That sounds like good reason. Dont think I can adjust exposure. Someone knows. Probably on holiday. ! Jonathon

_________________
120 evostar
150 evostar
150newtonian
eq3
az4
cg5


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Macam help
PostPosted: Sat Sep 22, 2012 6:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 9:58 pm
Posts: 3504
Location: Wellingborough
Hi from a Windows man! :D

I tried reading up on Macam, hoping to help you but all I can find is the macam is a USB driver thingy which connects your USB webcam to OSX operating system. I don't think it does anything else - I can't find anything anyway.

That being the case I wonder if control of the camera is actually through the cameras own software, which you should install from the camera installation disk supplied? Which camera are you using?

ATB,

_________________
Brian
52.3N 0.6W
Wellingborough UK.

254mm LX90 on Superwedge, WO ZS66SD, Helios 102mm f5 on EQ1, Hunter 11x80, Pentax 10x50
ASI120MC Toucam Pros 740k/840k/900nc mono, Pentax K110D
Ro-Ro roof shed


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Macam help
PostPosted: Sat Sep 22, 2012 10:20 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 3:51 pm
Posts: 50
Hallo Brian. It a morgan flashed 900.

_________________
120 evostar
150 evostar
150newtonian
eq3
az4
cg5


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Macam help
PostPosted: Mon Sep 24, 2012 7:17 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 9:58 pm
Posts: 3504
Location: Wellingborough
Attachment:
File comment: Macam control screen?
Macam pic.jpg
Macam pic.jpg [ 42.81 KiB | Viewed 4229 times ]


OK found some Macam screenshots online. Is this the sort of thing you are seeing on your setup? Do you have all the options listed here, particularly Gamma, Gain and shutter, as well as format and framerate. If you have these under your control we should be able to make some progress :D

Regards,

_________________
Brian
52.3N 0.6W
Wellingborough UK.

254mm LX90 on Superwedge, WO ZS66SD, Helios 102mm f5 on EQ1, Hunter 11x80, Pentax 10x50
ASI120MC Toucam Pros 740k/840k/900nc mono, Pentax K110D
Ro-Ro roof shed


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Macam help
PostPosted: Thu Sep 27, 2012 9:33 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 3:51 pm
Posts: 50
Thank you for your help. Sorry I m taking so long to reply , the computer isnt mine, is 45 miles away so I only see it once a week and I m on holiday so I wont see it until 10 Ictober. There is no disc supplied with webcam. I downloaded macam and as far as I remember the webcam was recognised when I plugged it in. I have not seen any thing about morgans spc 900 on screen only macams very simple contrast altering things.I m sure I have not seen anything about staturation and gamma.Unfirtunately workings split shifts in catering means I have no way of finding out much and I would very much like to find out something! Thank you again. I will be back. Jonathon

_________________
120 evostar
150 evostar
150newtonian
eq3
az4
cg5


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group