Shop
Popular Astronomy


Join the SPA Now

Moon Today

The phase of the moon for today. Updates every 4 hours
Courtesy U.S.N.O.

Sky Tonight


See how the sky will look tonight with our Sky Chart

Popular Astronomy

Popular Astronomy Magazine - November-December 2017
See what's in the November-December 2017 edition of 'Popular Astronomy' magazine. Click the cover to find out.

Follow popastro on Facebook 

Follow popastro on Twitter 

Observing Section News

Here are the most recent news stories from the SPA's Observing Sections

 
Tue, 07 Nov 2017 ( Planetary )  

Important News about Neptune.


Mon, 30 Oct 2017 ( VariableStar )  

Eclipsing Binary predictions : 2017 Nov-Dec


Wed, 18 Oct 2017 ( Meteor )  

A nicely timed Orionid maximum


Tue, 17 Oct 2017 ( Solar )  

Hurricane Ophelia Turns Sun Orange-red


Fri, 29 Sep 2017 ( Planetary )  

Looking forward to October and November


Wed, 20 Sep 2017 ( VariableStar )  

How bright will chi Cygni become?


Sun, 10 Sep 2017 ( VariableStar )  

What will R CrB do next ?


Thu, 07 Sep 2017 ( Planetary )  

Observing the Ice-Giants in Autumn


Mon, 28 Aug 2017 ( VariableStar )  

Eclipsing Binary Predictions : 2017 September-October


Sun, 13 Aug 2017 ( VariableStar )  

R Trianguli is approaching maximum


Sun, 06 Aug 2017 ( Meteor )  

Enjoy the Perseids (and ignore the hype)


Mon, 31 Jul 2017 ( Planetary )  

Looking Forward: August and September 2017


Sun, 23 Jul 2017 ( VariableStar )  

R Coronae Borealis is edging brighter again


Tue, 18 Jul 2017 ( VariableStar )  

Chi Cygni now visible in binoculars


Sun, 11 Jun 2017 ( VariableStar )  

Miras near maximum


Wed, 07 Jun 2017 ( Planetary )  

Remarkable images from Juno perijove 6