Popular Astronomy


Join the SPA Now

Moon Today

The phase of the moon for today. Updates every 4 hours
Courtesy U.S.N.O.

Sky Tonight


See how the sky will look tonight with our Sky Chart

Popular Astronomy

Popular Astronomy Magazine - Mar-Apr 2014
See what's in the Mar-Apr 2014 edition of 'Popular Astronomy' magazine. Click the cover to find out.

Follow popastro on Twitter 

SPA Latest News

Look below to see the latest headlines from the SPA, with the most recent at the top. Click on any of them to read the full story.

 
Thu, 17 Apr 2014  

Historic encounter for Vesta and Ceres


Sun, 06 Apr 2014  

Mars comes close


Fri, 14 Mar 2014  

Jupiter rides high tonight


Wed, 26 Feb 2014  

National Astronomy Week targets Jupiter


Wed, 22 Jan 2014  

Supernova in M82 still bright


Wed, 15 Jan 2014  

Seesaw star in Scutum brightens


Sun, 05 Jan 2014  

What to observe with your new telescope


Sun, 05 Jan 2014  

How many moons can you see?


Wed, 01 Jan 2014  

Start 2014 with shooting stars!


Tue, 24 Dec 2013  

Christmas stars


Mon, 16 Dec 2013  

Members see moonlight meteors


Wed, 11 Dec 2013  

Meteors in the moonlight


Sat, 30 Nov 2013  

Comet ISON is dead – official


Thu, 28 Nov 2013  

Comet ISON – still alive?


Sat, 23 Nov 2013  

See the comet – but which one?


Tue, 29 Oct 2013  

Breaking news: Sky at Night saved


Fri, 27 Sep 2013  

SPA statement on threat to Sky at Night


Wed, 25 Sep 2013  

Jupiter shines for early risers


Fri, 13 Sep 2013  

Top speakers in Belfast


Tue, 03 Sep 2013  

Jupiter makes an appearance