Popular Astronomy


Join the SPA Now

Moon Today

The phase of the moon for today. Updates every 4 hours
Courtesy U.S.N.O.

Sky Tonight


See how the sky will look tonight with our Sky Chart

Popular Astronomy

Popular Astronomy Magazine - July-August 2016
See what's in the July-August 2016 edition of 'Popular Astronomy' magazine. Click the cover to find out.

Follow popastro on Twitter 

SPA Latest News

Look below to see the latest news reports from the SPA, with the most recent at the top. Click on any of them to read the full story.

 
Sat, 11 Jun 2016  

New light pollution atlas


Sat, 04 Jun 2016  

Strange northern clouds


Mon, 23 May 2016  

Mars comes close


Thu, 28 Apr 2016  

Get ready for the Transit of Mercury!


Sat, 09 Apr 2016  

Comet 252P now visible from UK...


Fri, 01 Apr 2016  

Only Klingons need apply...


Sun, 20 Mar 2016  

Two comets close to Earth


Mon, 07 Mar 2016  

Bright aurora widely seen over UK


Mon, 29 Feb 2016  

Mighty Jupiter dominates night sky


Fri, 05 Feb 2016  

More ISS passes over UK


Tue, 02 Feb 2016  

Nacreous clouds seen


Tue, 19 Jan 2016  

Planets on parade


Tue, 12 Jan 2016  

Stargazing Live for beginners


Thu, 07 Jan 2016  

A comet flares


Fri, 01 Jan 2016  

Quadrantid meteors light up the sky


Mon, 28 Dec 2015  

What's that star in the east?


Tue, 15 Dec 2015  

See Tim Peake for yourself!


Wed, 09 Dec 2015  

Comet Catalina in the morning sky


Fri, 04 Dec 2015  

The two-tailed comet


Thu, 03 Dec 2015  

First views of Comet Catalina