Popular Astronomy


Join the SPA Now

Moon Today

The phase of the moon for today. Updates every 4 hours
Courtesy U.S.N.O.

Sky Tonight


See how the sky will look tonight with our Sky Chart

Popular Astronomy

Popular Astronomy Magazine - September-October 2014
See what's in the September-October 2014 edition of 'Popular Astronomy' magazine. Click the cover to find out.

Follow popastro on Twitter 

SPA Latest News

Look below to see the latest headlines from the SPA, with the most recent at the top. Click on any of them to read the full story.

 
Tue, 09 Sep 2014  

A good time to start stargazing


Fri, 05 Sep 2014  

Asteroid flyby – no need to duck


Wed, 03 Sep 2014  

Comet Jacques overhead


Tue, 19 Aug 2014  

More planets line up!


Mon, 18 Aug 2014  

Photos of the planetary line-up


Sat, 16 Aug 2014  

Brightest planets in close conjunction


Tue, 05 Aug 2014  

Meteors by Moonlight


Sat, 12 Jul 2014  

Dazzling display of space clouds


Thu, 10 Jul 2014  

Large sunspots increase the chance of solar flares


Tue, 01 Jul 2014  

Ceres and Vesta make historic close approach


Sat, 31 May 2014  

Look out for those summer night clouds


Sun, 25 May 2014  

Four planets at once


Sun, 18 May 2014  

Shooting stars? What shooting stars?


Wed, 14 May 2014  

Farewell to telescope legend Dudley Fuller


Thu, 17 Apr 2014  

Historic encounter for Vesta and Ceres


Sun, 06 Apr 2014  

Mars comes close


Fri, 14 Mar 2014  

Jupiter rides high tonight


Wed, 26 Feb 2014  

National Astronomy Week targets Jupiter


Wed, 22 Jan 2014  

Supernova in M82 still bright


Wed, 15 Jan 2014  

Seesaw star in Scutum brightens