Popular Astronomy


Join the SPA Now

Moon Today

The phase of the moon for today. Updates every 4 hours
Courtesy U.S.N.O.

Sky Tonight


See how the sky will look tonight with our Sky Chart

Popular Astronomy

Popular Astronomy Magazine - Jan-Feb 2016
See what's in the Jan-Feb 2016 edition of 'Popular Astronomy' magazine. Click the cover to find out.

Follow popastro on Twitter 

SPA Latest News

Look below to see the latest news reports from the SPA, with the most recent at the top. Click on any of them to read the full story.

 
Fri, 05 Feb 2016  

More ISS passes over UK


Tue, 02 Feb 2016  

Nacreous clouds seen


Tue, 19 Jan 2016  

Planets on parade


Tue, 12 Jan 2016  

Stargazing Live for beginners


Thu, 07 Jan 2016  

A comet flares


Fri, 01 Jan 2016  

Quadrantid meteors light up the sky


Mon, 28 Dec 2015  

What's that star in the east?


Tue, 15 Dec 2015  

See Tim Peake for yourself!


Wed, 09 Dec 2015  

Comet Catalina in the morning sky


Fri, 04 Dec 2015  

The two-tailed comet


Thu, 03 Dec 2015  

First views of Comet Catalina


Sat, 21 Nov 2015  

Comet Catalina keeps us guessing


Fri, 30 Oct 2015  

Venus, Mars and the Moon meet in morning sky


Mon, 26 Oct 2015  

See a bright star play hide-and-seek


Sun, 18 Oct 2015  

Late-night Orionid meteors display


Sat, 10 Oct 2015  

Spectacular morning planets


Thu, 08 Oct 2015  

8 October: Watch for Northern Lights


Wed, 30 Sep 2015  

Where are the planets?


Mon, 28 Sep 2015  

Asteroid to eclipse star


Tue, 22 Sep 2015  

The lunar eclipse: What you need to know