Popular Astronomy

Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Stumble It More...

Fireball Reports from 2014 Sep-Oct

Sep 14th 21:20 BST (20:20 GMT)

Martin Sackwood (Crondall, nr Farnham, Hampshire) reported a yellow-orange fireball with a short duration, heading in a northerly direction from his western sky to his north western sky at about 10 degrees altitude. No fragmentation was observed.

Sep 15th 00:00 BST (Sep 14th 23:00 GMT)

Christian Carroll (Kidbrook, south London) reported a bright green fireball with a short tail heading in a NNW direction and having a duration of 2 seconds. There is a trail on a 32 second exposure image starting at 22:58:42 GMT (see star.herts.ac.uk/allsky/imageget.php ) of the Niton (Isle of Wight) camera of the Univ of Herts system. However it is unclear as to whether this is the fireball or an aircraft trail. Due to the bright moonlight there are gaps of approx two minutes between exposures and these gaps are long enough to allow an aircraft to move out of the field of view or disappear into cloud.

Sep 15th approx 18:45 BST (17:45 GMT)

Alison Molloy (Kenardington, nr Ashford, Kent) reported a very bright fireball, possibly as bright as the Moon, seen in the bright evening twilight. She described it as having a teardrop shape and heading NE to SW, although she only saw it for a second before it disappeared behing a building.

John Murrell has also passed on a report from a member of Croydon A S, who described it as having a duration of 3 seconds and ending in a flash. Two reports were also found on Twitter - from observers in Hersham and Camberley. Additional reports elsewhere on the internet reveal it to have been seen from as far west as Bath and as far north as Boston in Lincolnshire.

Unfortunately, the timing of this fireball, so soon after sunset, means that despite its brightness the fireball is unlikely to have been recorded by any of the automated fireball monitoring cameras that are active in the British Isles nowadays.

Oct 7th 22:29 BST (21:29 GMT)

Bill Ward (Kilwinning) captured a spectrum of a fireball, most likely a Taurid. The spectrum and an intensity plot are reproduced below. Note that the broad line near the bottom is an artefact caused by scattered moonlight.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Bill adds "There are lots of metal lines in this one. Calcium, Iron (probably Nickel too), Magnesium and Sodium. Possibly Silicon and Oxygen too."

Oct 8th 04:46 BST approx (03:46 GMT)

Maggie Daly (Branston) reports seeing a bright meteor to the east of the "handle" of the Plough. This was heading downwards at an angle of approx 60 degrees to the vertical.

This fireball was also imaged by Alex Pratt in Leeds via his NW facing video camera and by two other cameras, in Cheshire, of the NEMETODE video network. 

None of these cameras captured the whole length of the path but, using triangulation for the commonly imaged sections of the fireball, they have derived the approx ground path of the fireball, which is shown by the yellow lines in this map.

Their analysis indicates that the fireball ended at an altitude of approx 72 km.

 

Oct 12th 02:55 GMT (03:55 BST)

Alex Pratt (Leeds) captured an image of another fireball using his automated video cameras.

This time it was his SE facing camera that captured the image.

The fireball was also imaged by William Stewart (Cheshire) of the NEMETODE network.

A report, from Co Mayo, on the Armagh fireballs website may also refer to this fireball

Triangulation using the two images indicated that the fireball was heading in a roughly southerly direction over south Lincolnshire and ended at an altitude of around 73km. 

It was most likely part of the sporadic background, rather than being part of a meteor shower.

 

Oct 25th 20:56 GMT

Another fireball captured by Alex Pratt (Leeds), again via his SE facing camera.  Alex adds that closer inspection of his images suggest that the fireball may have fragmented into two pieces.

This fireball was, once again, also imaged by William Stewart of the NEMETODE video camera network, but other cameras in the network appear to have been clouded out.

A report, from Merseyside, on the Armagh fireballs website most likely also describes this fireball.

Once again, this seems to have been a sporadic meteor,

Triangulation of the two images indicated that the fireball was over south Yorkshire and heading in a roughly ESE direction. The end height of the fireball was determined to be around 63km.

 

Oct 28th 23:48 GMT

This fireball was reported by Matthew Williams (Birkenhead) and Paul Hackett (Brownhills, West Midlands). Both saw it in the western part of the sky and heading in a northly direction. It was described as being yellow in colour and having a duration of at least 5 seconds.

Much of the UK was covered by cloud at the time. I have found one other visual report on-line - from an observer in Blackpool. The fireball only seems to have been imaged from one location - in Northern Ireland - with other automated video camera systems being clouded out.

Added by:  Tracie Heywood