Popular Astronomy

Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Stumble It More...

Fireball Reports from 2014 July-Aug

July 16th  03:30 BST (02:30 GMT)

Robertson MacCormack and his passenger reported seeing this fireball at the top right of his windscreen while driving north on the M6 near Kendal. He describes it as being blue in colour, with a very short "broad" track and appearing to break up just as it disappeared while still "overhead". Despite the similarity to the fireball seen by other observers on the 17th, he is certain that his observation was for this time on the 16th.

July 17th  02:59 BST (01:59 GMT)

Kim Cramp (Sutton Coldfield) saw this fireball low down in the sky, describing it as looking like "a white ball of light with a long tail", briefly showing some colour and lasting for a couple of seconds.

This fireball was also partly imaged by SPA member Richard Fleet (Wiltshire, see twitter.com/dewbow ) and by the NEMETODE networkwww.nemetode.org/ ) cameras of William Stewart (Ravensmoor, Cheshire), Alex Pratt (Leeds - through cloud) and David Anderson (south Ayrshire).  

William's impressive video (5MB) of the fireball (showing the whole path) can be downloaded from  www.nemetode.org/Examples/M20140717_015926__RM%20Compressed.wmv

The analysis of the three NEMETODE images indicates that it started over the Irish Sea, just NW of Liverpool, and headed in a roughly NNE direction, ending over Cumbria (for the detailed trajectory, see the map www.nemetode.org/Examples/B20140717_015926GMAP.jpg ). The fireball was a sporadic meteor of approx mag -6.

July 26th 23:14 BST (22:14 GMT)

Paul Brierley (Macclesfield) and "MilkieL4" (High Wycombe) reported this bright fireball on the SPA Forum (see www.forum.popastro.com/viewtopic.php ).

The fireball was also imaged by two cameras of the NEMETODE network ( see www.nemetode.org where, rather confusingly, it is described under the (somewhat confusingly under the a 30th July 2014 heading as "High over Heathrow"). The analysis of these images determined the it was a sporadic fireball travelling in a NW direction from near Tonbridge to near Oxford).

July 27th  23:02 BST (22:02 GMT)

Derek Gibbs (Great Yarmouth) and Charles Lewis (Worcester) reported this fireball.

Derek reports that he was looking out through his front door (facing west) and saw a very bright (like moon observed though light cloud cover) fast moving blue-green meteor travelling due east to west, travelling down from approx 45 degrees above the horizon to 40 degrees above the horizon.  

Charles reports that whilst driving home through Worcester, he saw a large green light in the sky which was moving in the same direction as him (ENE) and visible through the windscreen (at a guess 30 to 40 degrees up). At first he thought it might be a firework as it had a distinct head which then broke up into visible components, but as there were no other flashes or streaks he realised that it was likely to be a fireball.

It appears that Nick James captured an image of this fireball from Chelmsford, but other cameras of the NEMETODE network further north and west may well have been clouded out. Nick's image can be found at www.nickdjames.com/meteor/2014/W201407/M20140727_220241_Chelmsford_NWP.jpg . The camera is pointing NW and has an approx 90 degree horizontal field of view.

Several additional reports of this fireball, from observers in Nottingham, Loughborough, Bristol, Somerset and Edinburgh, can be found on the Armagh fireballs page: arpc65.arm.ac.uk/cgi-bin/fireballs/search.pl .

Aug 3rd 23:59 BST (22:59 GMT)

Simon Palmer (Leicester) reported a bright meteor, probably around mag -2, which took approx 3 sec to move from near Arcturus (SSW) to northern Draco (ENE). Its speed was approx 4 times that of the ISS. Simon noted that he had also seen another bright meteor follow a similar path a few nights earlier.

Aug 7th 23:28 BST (22:28 GMT) 

Peter Grego (St Dennis, Cornwall) reported a fireball of magnitude about -4, which was probably a Perseid.

He reports that it left a persistent train that remained visible for 1-2 seconds.

His sketch of the fireball is reproduced to the right. As can be seen, the fireball travels down through western Cygnus and through Lyra down towards the WSW horizon.

Given Peter's coastal location and the sky direction in which the fireball appeared (placing in out over the sea) , it is unlikely that the fireball would have been visible to many other potential observers.

 

Aug 12th , around 3am BST (02h GMT)

Lin Woodward (Basildon, Essex) reported a bright fireball that lasted for several seconds. The fireball was red, orange and yellow in colour and descending down to the horizon in her southern sky.

Note that this fireball is not be be confused with a bright fireball imaged from Essex and Devon at 3am on the morning of the 13th. Lin's report was received prior to that - and the latter fireball was seen almost head on from Essex.

 

Aug 22nd  23:08 BST (22:08 GMT) 

Peter Grego (St Dennis, Cornwall) witnessed  a fireball in his southern sky which was brightest (magnitude about -5) in the middle part of its flight and left a bluish 1 sec train.

His sketch is shown to the right.

 

Aug 30th  20:29 BST (19:29 GMT, evening twilight)

David Armson (Ferndown, Dorset) witnessed a bright fireball heading in a westerly direction and descending at a steep angle (about 80 degrees) to the horizon. It had a duration of 3 seconds and a bright yellow head and left a slight train.

There are also reports of this fireball being seen from south Wales, Somerset, Warwickshire and West Yorkshire (see arpc65.arm.ac.uk/cgi-bin/fireballs/search.pl )

Added by:  Tracie Heywood