Popular Astronomy


Join the SPA Now

Moon Today

The phase of the moon for today. Updates every 4 hours
Courtesy U.S.N.O.

Sky Tonight


See how the sky will look tonight with our Sky Chart

Popular Astronomy

Popular Astronomy Magazine - September-October 2014
See what's in the September-October 2014 edition of 'Popular Astronomy' magazine. Click the cover to find out.

Follow popastro on Twitter 

Can't find what you're looking for on the SPA site? Here are some links to some of the most popular and useful links on the Internet. Each link will open in a new window.


Astronomical Societies

Federation of Astronomical Societies  www.fedastro.org.uk
Use this site to find details of over 175 local astronomical societies throughout the UK

British Astronomical Association www.britastro.org
Formed in 1890, the BAA has an international reputation for the quality of its observational and scientific work.

Webb Society www.webbdeepsky.com/
For deep-sky observers

Royal Astronomical Society www.ras.org.uk
The society for UK professional astronomers, but with many amateur members.


Photo Galleries

Hubble Space Telescope pictures hubblesite.org/
Archive of almost all Hubble images

Planetary photos from NASA spacecraft photojournal.jpl.nasa.gov/
Covers all recent planetary missions, regularly updated

Space Shuttle and International Space Station spaceflight.nasa.gov
Includes sound and movie clips


Reference – positions of objects, star maps etc

Heavens Above www.heavens-above.com
Gives timings of International Space Station and other satellite passes over your chosen location, plus much more

IAU Minor Planet Center minorplanetcenter.net/
For orbits and positions of comets, asteroids, etc. Requires an understanding of orbital parameters.

Stellarium www.stellarium.org
Excellent free software for showing a realistic view of the sky from your location

Solar System Live http://www.fourmilab.ch/solar/solar.html
Useful live plots of the positions of solar system objects


Monthly magazines

Astronomy Now www.astronomynow.com/
Authoritative UK astronomy magazine

Sky at Night www.skyatnightmagazine.com
UK magazine based on the BBC TV show

The Astronomer www.theastronomer.org/
UK based, consists largely of detailed observational reports: for dedicated observers

Astronomy www.astronomy.com
Popular US magazine

Sky and Telescope www.skyandtelescope.com
Has a very long pedigree


Observing help

Jodrell Bank www.jb.man.ac.uk/astronomy/
Monthly night sky guide and podcast

SEDS Deep Sky spider.seds.org/spider/Deepsky/deepsky.html
Masses of information about deep-sky objects


Annual Star parties

Kelling Heath star party www.starparty.org.uk
The UK's leading observing event, in Norfolk. Occurs near autumn equinox. Camping sites with some caravans.
There is also a separately organised spring event

Kielder Forest Star Camp www.richarddarn.demon.co.uk/starcamp/
Takes place twice a year in Northumberland's dark skies

Isle of Wight star party www.iowstarparty.org/IOWSP/Home.html
Every March. Accommodation is in beach huts and chalets.


Places to visit

The Observatory Science Centre, Herstmonceux, Sussex www.the-observatory.org/
Home of former Royal Greenwich Observatory, now a science centre with many astronomical exhibits

National Space Centre, Leicester www.spacecentre.co.uk/Page.aspx/1/Home/
Modern space and astronomy exhibits and planetarium

Royal Observatory, Greenwich www.iowstarparty.org/IOWSP/Home.html
The original home of the Royal Greenwich Observatory, with the famous Meridian Line and historic telescopes

Glasgow Science Centre www.gsc.org.uk/
Includes a planetarium

Intech Science Centre, Winchester www.intech-uk.com/
Includes a planetarium

Mills Observatory, Dundee www.dundeecity.gov.uk/mills/
Observatory and planetarium

Island Planetarium, Isle of Wight http://www.islandastronomy.co.uk/
Part of Fort Victoria Country Park

South Downs Planetarium, Chichester www.southdowns.org.uk/sdpt/
Planetarium and science centre

Jodrell Bank Visitor Centre, Cheshire www.jb.man.ac.uk/visitorcentre/l
Displays about astronomy and the famous radiotelescope

Thinktank Birmingham www.thinktank.ac/
Science centre with planetarium

Liverpool Planetarium www.liverpoolmuseums.org.uk/wml/spaceandtime/Planetarium/
Part of Liverpool Museum


Weather and aurorae

UK Met Office www.metoffice.gov.uk/
Forecasts and updated weather satellite photos

UK Auroral Activity http://aurorawatch.lancs.ac.uk/
Constantly updated graph of auroral activity

Spaceweather www.spaceweather.com
Updates on solar and auroral activity plus photos of atmospheric and other phenomena

 

 

Tue, 09 Sep 2014   - A good time to start stargazing

Fri, 05 Sep 2014   - Asteroid flyby – no need to duck

Wed, 03 Sep 2014   - Comet Jacques overhead